DynDNS

Why didn’t anyone tell me that DynDNS is free? I always assumed you had to pay for it, but it is free for up to five host names. Sweet.

For the non technically minded, this means anyone can run their own website, served from a computer in their lounge room, without the need to purchase an expensive “business class” broadband account. You don’t even need to pay for hosting or a domain name, so long as you don’t mind one of their pre-aranged ones. As for me I’m pretty happy with kinsman.is-a-geek.net. All you’ll find there at the moment is an apache test page, but I’m planning on moving my blog there once I get it sorted.

I knew I kept that old PII-350 around for a reason.

Leave a Reply

