Coherent youtube comments?

After getting back from lunch at the pub yesterday afternoon Tori Amos’ Raspberry Swirl suddenly popped into my head. It’s on my least favourite album of hers so I didn’t have a copy of it on my work computer. I managed get it via youtube however.

And the comments posted below the clip were as follows:

slayerette
Oh man, I jsut watched the video back too, it’s so obvious! The girls sit around a table, they all ‘dig in,’ they get messy and have fun, the boy stays out of it, he laughs at the girls, he sees them as pigs and when he finally ‘gets involved’ he stamps over the table, avoiding the getting messy. Girls know each others bodies, and are happy to get down and dirty with it, whereas (lol what a perfect example you are) men see it as degrading and don’t want to be part of it!

slayerette
lol I’m afraid, Tori says herself that this is about the fact that yeah, she is married, but she and her best female friend share a very intimate relationship, and she hates it when said friend gets messed about by guys because Tori sees herself as her friend’s ‘man,’ boyfriend etc! So yes, the song is about sex, it is not a reference to the ‘clitoris’ but full on, lesbian sex- It’s the Wiki ‘songs about homosexuality list!’

ravrik
Well I suppose you are right too. I, as a man, find sex a bit dirty to go into songs of such a high calibre. Love, on the other hand is a different matter. But we may have to agree to disagree! lol

I thought only loud dumb people post comments on youtube. I was surprised to see people actually being coherent, rational and reasonably mature; especially considering the song is about girl-on-girl action (check out the elevator “going down” in the clip). I guess the greater internet fuckwad theory doesn’t always ring true.

Damn, spoke too soon. Just checked the site again to find this gem:

Nuditeaf
I love gender generalisations. It’s what makes feminism so fuck’n great. FUCK OFF.

Leave a Reply

