Consume!

I am not a very materialistic person. I don’t wear fancy clothes, don’t care for expensive cars, and will take tasty cheap chinese food over ritzy french cuisine any day. I believe in redistributing the world’s wealth to it’s poorer citizens. All these things conspire to make me a tight arse.

I have but one fiscal weakness – I am a total gadget slut. As long as it does something, I don’t care how much it costs, I need it. Here are the things which are currently battling against my first world guilt for domination of my wallet. As you might have noticed, I’ve been on a music kick lately so most are cello related.

Yamaha fz6n

Yamaha fz6n

Sorry mum.

luis-clark carbon fiber cello

luis-clark carbon fiber cello

It’s a cello and it’s mother fucking black. The only thing stopping me from buying this is that I feel I am not yet skilled enough to own such an expensive cello.

NS Design Cello

NS Design Cello

What’s the difference between this electric cello and a normal one? It has a fifth string so you can play phat bass lines on it. Oh, and you don’t have to sit down to play it.

Amplifier

Amplifier

My neighbors haven’t complained yet so obviously I’m not playing loud enough.

Yamaha-Audiogram-6

Yamaha-Audiogram-6

AKG Perception 120

AKG Perception 120

Why annoy my neighbors when I can make recordings and annoy all of internet land?

macbook

macbook

I was desperately hoping my new work would give me a desktop instead of a laptop, so I would have an excuse to buy one of these.

So the question is, do I cave in? Which do I buy? Which do I avoid? Can I really justify buying this stuff?

The answer is to make a new rule for myself. For the next month, if I buy something I don’t really need, I will donate the same amount to charity. This way I’m either going to save a shitload of money… or spend a shitload of money.

2 thoughts on “Consume!

  1. Or you could blow it all on a trip home and presents for the nephew.

    Failing that: Ya!Ma!Ha!Ya!Ma!Ha! You could ride it back to Radelaide …

  2. Macbook! Noo …
    I hate apple now, ever since the shiny new car smell wore off of my ipod and i realised what a bitch itunes is. Needless to say i run rockbox now.
    Anyways your job looks cool. Gonna show the warning sign and particle accel pics to the Mrs, then spend about 20mins trying to explain what a particle accelerator is in Japanese.
    If you want fame i suggest sending the robots and lasers pic to digg, i can do it for you if you like ….

Leave a Reply

