Congratulations, mortal!

Nethack is a video game. A very old school video game. I’ll just be lazy and let someone else summarise.

Instead I will just brag – I have finished nethack. I took my female dwarven valkyrie name RoboHobo all the way from the dungeon entrance, into the bowels of Gehemnom, retrieved the amulet from the wizard of Yendor, made it all the way back, and the offered the amulet to my god (Týr). Did I mention that nethack is hard? Because it is. Not like these piss easy games youngsters play nowdays. To explain how hard nethack is, here is a photo stef took of me while I was playing:

(Alternatively, imagine that there is no laptop out of frame, and provide your own caption)

In all of my 25 years of videogaming, I’ve never been so excited to finish a game.

RoboHobo, lawful female dwarven Valkyrie
RoboHobo the Heroine St:25 Dx:18 Co:20 In:14 Wi:19 Ch:9 Lawful S:1549823
Astral Plane $:21 HP:236(272) Pw:66(66) AC:-28 Xp:23/30060277 T:48053 Satiated

Latest messages
...
There is an altar to Tyr (lawful) here.
What do you want to sacrifice? [KM or ?*]
You offer the Amulet of Yendor to Tyr...
An invisible choir sings, and you are bathed in radiance...
The voice of Tyr thunders: "Congratulations, mortal!"
"In return for thy service, I grant thee the gift of Immortality!"
You ascend to the status of Demigoddess...

Farvel RoboHobo the Demigoddess...
You went to your reward with 3138846 points,
Grayswandir (worth 8000 zorkmids and 20000 points)
Excalibur (worth 4000 zorkmids and 10000 points)
The Orb of Fate (worth 3500 zorkmids and 8750 points)
2 amulets of life saving (worth 300 zorkmids),
1 amulet of magical breathing (worth 150 zorkmids),
and 21 pieces of gold, after 48053 moves.
Killer: ascended
You were level 23 with a maximum of 272 hit points when you ascended.

Full proof of my glorious victory can be found here.

2 thoughts on “Congratulations, mortal!

Leave a Reply

